Week 5: Masking Unmasked!

Tonight’s tutorial was all about masking, which is a technique that enables you to hide certain sections of a video clip while blending multiple clips together to create a special effect. The video below shows one of many such effects – I’ve created multiple versions of myself in a video!

It was an amusing exercise to undertake, and took a bit of tweaking to ensure that I visualised the final layout while acting out each scene so as not to interfere with the places you intend to carry out the other scenes. An example of where I didn’t get this quite right was where my waving arm blocked the place where I needed to be in the following scene. I got around the problem by turning one of me’s upside down which does look quite ridiculous, but never mind.

Here’s the final result of two hours of effort!

https://vimeo.com/91238736

The music in the video was sourced from a Creative Commons website and is called Walkampfchampagne by an artist called Erdbeerschnitzel. No more need be said about that!

Here’s an example from a random dude on YouTube of effective use of masking to create the effect I tried to emulate above.

 

 

Leave a Reply

